Marijuana charges in the state of California can result in harsh penalties such as days or months in jail and fines starting at $100. If you are arrested for possession, you should consult with an experienced drug offense lawyer as soon as possible for your best chances at minimizing your penalties.
Possession charges can be viewed as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on how much marijuana you are carrying and whether or not you intend to sell it. If you are caught with less than 28.5 grams and are under the age of 18, you will face 10 days in jail and a $100 fine. If you are over the age of 18 and are caught with less than 28.5 grams of marijuana, you will face 10 days in jail and a fine of $500. If you are charged with possessing more than 28.5 grams, you will be charged with a misdemeanor, but you will face up to six months in jail and a $500 fine.
If you are charged with possession of any amount with the intent to distribute, you will be charged with a felony and can be incarcerated for 16 months to 3 years. Individuals charged with the sale or delivery of marijuana will be charged with a felony and will face 2 to 4 years in jail.
Although California seems to be relaxed when it comes to marijuana, the state still considers the possession of, sale of and cultivation of marijuana to be a crime. Even if this is your first run in with the law, you should consult an experienced criminal lawyer if you are arrested for any of these offenses.
As a Los Angeles criminal lawyer, Vitaly Sigal has extensive experience defending the rights of individuals that are arrested for drug crimes such as the possession of marijuana. He works hard for his clients and does whatever it takes to get their charges reduced if not dropped completely. To schedule a consultation with Mr. Sigal, contact our law office today.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment